The reality of birthing this baby doesn’t really hit until you get the paperwork from the doctor. I was all comfortable with everything because it was always a thought, never a “plan”. Well… I got the paperwork today and sure enough I didn’t know how to answer some of them. I mean until the actual delivery day (D-Day) how would you even know the answers to these questions. Don’t get me wrong I know some mothers plan their labor down to a “T”, but I am just hoping that I get through it. Whether you know or not, you get the questionnaire and you start checking off boxes.

X – I would like to limit the number of guests and phone calls while I am in labor by disconnecting my phone and by having a sign posted on my door. Well of course I am not going to be in any position to answer the damn phone, so why have it plugged in? Hubby will be in charge of the cell phones, but even my Mom will not be able to have a phone on her. I don’t want people calling or having conversations when I am uncomfortable. Call me selfish, but it’s going to be make Stephanie happy day.

X – I would like the lights in the room to be lowered. How the hell do you know if you want low lighting? I guess in the hopes of avoiding a migraine I will shoot for the low lighting, but at the same time… HUH?

X – I would like to be out of bed as much as possible during labor (such as walking, rocking). I don’t know if I will be able to walk by that point, but I would prefer to walk around if I can. I suppose this one will be ok until something changes on D-Day.

??? – I prefer to have intermittent fetal monitoring. Don’t they have an option to have consistent monitoring? I thought the whole point of being in a hospital was to be monitored 24/7.

??? – I prefer to have a saline lock (a plug for your IV needle) instead of a continuous IV. I am not too sure how to answer this. Call me dense for doing all this, but don’t you need meds (if any) to be administered through the IV the whole time? I must be an idiot or something. I have no idea.

X – I would prefer that the amniotic membrane “bag of waters” rupture naturally. I definitely want to try and do it all naturally, but I suppose if it came down to it and I had to, then we can go from there. The more natural, the better.

X – I would like to meet the pediatrician on duty if possible. Of course I would like to meet the doctor that will be working with my baby. That’s just a silly question.

X – I plan on using alternative pain relief options (such as breathing exercises, visualization/relaxation, massage, shower, position changes). I will ask for pain medication if I need it. Truth be told, I don’t know how I am going to handle labor. I am just as nervous as the next lady. I think that I can do it though, and I think I can do it with out the meds. I am hoping I can keep telling myself that and that my Hubby and Mom can try and support me through the pain, but I am going to try to avoid the heavy meds.

??? – I would like to be offered pain medication if you see I am uncomfortable. Again, not knowing how I am going to be through the pain, I am just hoping I can suck it up and get through it.

??? – I would like to have an epidural as soon as possible. It may get to this. I am not going to count it out completely, which brings us to the next one on the list.

X – I am considering having an epidural or suing pain medication, but will decide when I am actually in labor.  I want to say for certain that I am going to go with out the pain meds, but we all know that I can’t see the future. I just know that I am going to try my damnedest to avoid the meds.

??? – I would like the option to be in a position other than lying on my back when I give birth (such as semi-sitting, squatting, lying on my side, or on my hands and knees). How do you know what kind of position you want to labor in? I suppose this one will be left for D-Day.

??? – I would like a mirror available to view the birth. Ok, don’t get me wrong, but I am kinda scared to see anything. I almost plan to close my eyes and just push like crazy. I don’t think I would be able to focus long enough to watch anything. It would just freak me out and I wouldn’t want to push anymore.

X – I would like to touch my baby’s head as it crowns. Now, I am sure you are thinking, “WHAT?!?!? She will touch it, but she won’t watch it?” Yes, you are damn right! I honestly think this will be a great experience. I will be the first person to touch my baby before he is even out. I honestly love the thought!

X – I would like my baby to be placed on my stomach immediately after delivery. Again, I don’t care how gooey he will be, but it has been proven that the first 3 minutes of a child’s life offers more bonding than in the first 3 hours. Plus, I am so impatient that I want my baby as soon as I can have him. Now, if there is issues of course I will for-go this and want my baby to have immediate medical attention.

??? – I would prefer that the baby be dried off before being brought to me. Uhhh… NO. I want my baby, gooey and all!

X – I would like to have Hubby cut the cord, if possible. This is something that I know would mean the world to Ben. He is going to be so excited to see his son that he will want the honors of this.

??? – I would like to delay newborn procedures (such as bathing, measuring, physical exam, eye medication, vitamin K injection) for one hour so that I have a chance to feed and bond with my baby. If baby is good and healthy. No issues or problems. I would definitely like to have the first hour to bond and feed the baby. I am ready for that, but I also want to make sure that baby is taken care of properly, so this will require some additional research and questions to the doctor.

X – I want all procedures that are done and all medications that are given to my baby explained to me before they are carried out by the medical staff. Well DUH!

X – I would like to have the baby evaluated and bathed in my presence. Again, who would say, “No” to this?

X – If the baby must be taken from me to receive medical treatment, I would like Hubby to accompany the baby. Ben knows that if ANYTHING were to happen to baby that he would be the one to elbow his way into the room or be right next to him. That is Ben’s job… Baby is Ben’s job.

X – I plan on breastfeeding my baby. Oh yes… I am ready to join the breastfeeding brigade! I want the nutrition, the bonding, and the good stuff for baby.

X – I would like to be consulted before my baby is given a bottle or pacifier. Now, I might be super dense about this again… but I have heard that the more bottle a baby is given, the less likely they are to stick with the boob. I don’t know if that is the case with newborns, but honestly I would prefer we all stick with the boob until further notice. LOL!

X – If I have a boy, I DO/do not plan on having him circumcised at Kaiser Permanente. Yep, our boy will be circumcised. Personal preference, not religious. I realize some people my disagree, but ultimately… it’s not your kid, so I don’t really want your opinion. Thanks!

     All these questions made the thought of labor all that more real. I mean who would think that I am that close to having my baby with me. I know I still have 16.5 weeks until baby’s expected arrival, but it feels like it is approaching very quickly. Before you know it I will be like this…

And we will have baby here. I just know that I can’t wait until baby gets here.

     So, what would some of your answers be to the questions above? If you can answer some of my ridicules questions and offer some insight into watching you labor in a mirror, the intermittent fetal monitoring, etc. please let me know. I would love some more info.

     More fun to come later in the birth plan process I am sure.

