I was listening to the radio on my way home from work and sure enough I had this song play. It’s U2’s “With or Without You”. To say the very least I LOVE this song. Some times it reminds me of FRIENDS, when Ross and Rachel are going through one of their many rough patches. I love visualizing the rain and listening to the melody. I of course listen to the words, but now that I think about it, I have never read through the lyrics. So… here they are:
U2- With or Without You
Songwriters: ADAM CLAYTON, DAVE EVANS, PAUL HEWSON, LARRY MULLEN
See the stone set in your eyes
See the thorn twist in your side
I wait for you
Sleight of hand and twist of fate
On a bed of nails she makes me wait
And I wait without you
With or without you
With or without you
Through the storm we reach the shore
You give it all but I want more
And I am waiting for you
With or without you
With or without you
I can’t live
With or without you
And you give yourself away
And you give yourself away
And you give
And you give
And you give yourself away
My hands are tied
My body bruised, she’s got me with
Nothing to win and
Nothing left to lose
And you give yourself away
And you give yourself away
And you give
And you give
And you give yourself away
With or without you
With or without you
I can’t live
With or without you
With or without you
With or without you
I can’t live
With or without you
With or without you
I must say I love the lyrics. It is so expressive and emotional.

      Today this song is even more fitting. I had a very long day at work and go figure I was in a crabby mood. Then I called him on my way home and he just told me to get home as soon as I could. I walk in the door and go to our room, which has a beautiful rose sitting on it. The laptop sitting on my side of the bed with dinner sitting right on top of it and a card next to my pillow. To say the very least I love my husband.

      Some women have the benefit of having a man who they love, but to have a man to love you back and spoil you… that is a very special kind of man. I can’t believe that I got this lucky. We of course have our moments, but at the same time I can’t imagine having any of those moments with anyone else.

     Then after dinner he picked a movie off Netflicks. It was actually kind of interesting how he picked it, but so suitable for the night. He chose Sleepless In Seattle.
I love this movie by the way. It never ceases to amaze me that Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan have such fabulous chemistry and have never been married. They are just so wonderful together. This was truly a romantic night to remember. My hubby is just so magnificent. I think we have the kind of love in the movie, if not better. I for sure know that I could not be without him.

      I am not quite sure how this all ties together with the song and the movie and our night together, but for some reason it feels like it would. Plus, I must admit that after having the night I had it makes me want to watch other romantic movies (i.e. An Affair to Remember, which is referenced about a million times in Sleepless in Seattle.)

Oh, how I love that life can be filled with such a lovely sequence of simple romances that you will always remember. It could be from a song, a movie, a simple thought… it just makes me think how lucky I am to have that kind of love in my life.

     What was your last night of romance like? If you can pick one movie to express your idea of romance, what movie would it be and why? Well… I look forward to some responses and I hope you all have a wonderful night like I did.

