“Stephanie, you better come back…” is how my part of my bosses speech began. I suppose she could have said that I was a hard worker or that my personality adds dimension to the group, but she comes out with “… you better come back…”. I know in a weird way this is her showing appreciation for having me around, but it’s a little rough around the edges. She finishes her statement with her uncomfortable laugh, like by adding the laugh it was supposed to be funny.

I am not offended, but I am kind of irritated that this seems to be the millionth time that she has said it. She keeps trying the beat it into me that I should and will come back. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I will come back if I want to come back and if it is right for my family. Luckily I will be able to decide that when I want, not when work tells me to.

My family has taught me that I should live to work and not work to live. I am going to be there for my husband and my children. That is all there is to it. If that means I am going to stay home and take care of business there, then I will. If that means I am going to have to work, then I will work. I am not going to have my boss or anyone else tell me what is best for me or my family. I will leave that to me and my hubby thank you!

