Why Georgia
By John Mayer

I am driving up 85 in the kind of morning
That lasts all afternoon, I’m just stuck inside the gloom
Four more exits to my apartment
But I am tempted to keep the car in drive and leave it all behind
‘Cause I wonder sometimes about the outcome of a still verdict less life

Am I living it right, am I living it right?
Am I living it right
Why, why Georgia, why?

I rent a room and I fill the spaces with wood in places
To make it feel like home but all I feel’s alone
It might be a quarter life crisis, just stirrin’ in my soul
Either way I wonder sometimes about the outcome of a still verdict less life

Am I living it right, am I living it right?
Am I living it right
Why, why Georgia, why?

So what, so I’ve got a smile on
But it’s hiding the quiet superstitions in my head
Don’t believe me, don’t believe me when I say I’ve got it down

Everybody’s just a stranger but that’s the danger in going my own way
I guess it’s a price I have to pay, still everything happens for a reason
Is no reason not to ask myself if I’m living it right

Am I living it right, am I living it right?
Am I living it right
Why, why Georgia, why?

     This song easily has so many different meanings. I love the sound of it, but mostly… I love that I can relate to it. Not so much because I don’t know if I am living right. More because I feel like life is taking me on a journey that I didn’t know I would take. It has a whole new world coming my way and I know I am ready for it… it’s just… life.

     Tomorrow I turn 25. In the past 25 years of my life I feel like I have done a lot, but not quite enough. I know it sounds crazy to say that, but it’s true. I graduated high school, I got married, and I have a baby on the way… but I still am lacking. I could definitely use a college degree and a career. I need to improve my weight, my activity level, and everyone can always make room for improvement in their finances. I just know that the next 25 years will bring a whole new adventure for me. Motherhood will be a huge one. I am hoping to improve my cooking skills for the wife department.  I just have so much I would like to strive for.

     It won’t make much sense now… but I am going to have much more to say tomorrow since I am super tired right now, but I did want to make the quick post about the song. It is just one of those songs that I love and had to share. Have a good evening everyone.

