I have been a parent for about a month and a week. In the time I have been a parent I have learned to change a diaper in under 15 seconds in order to avoid target practice, I have mastered the bounce-sway-rock to get him to sleep, I have learned to undress with one hand and bathe two bodies at one time, but I have found that I am still very challenged at some things. My first big parenting fail was noticed today.

     As a new parent, doctors warn you not to take your unvaccinated child to public places, to avoid sick individuals, etc. After experiencing my own sick baby early, I do not want to tempt fate. This of course only leaves you with the option to become a hermit. Well, as much fun as that is, Ben has opted to bring us out of the house. This meant we packed up Peyton and made an attempt to go out.
     We didn’t even go out for very long. Our trip out involved feeding Keidy and picking up a Christmas gift for my Grandmother. Admittedly Peyton was having a rough day already, but we thought we would be safe taking him out since he was asleep when we left. I was sadly mistaken. Every time we stopped the car he started to fuss. He would spit out his binky, make his stink face, and wiggle about. Then started the cries. More like loud whines I suppose, but none the less it was awful.
     He settled down as the car would get started and we were driving around to put him to sleep. Finally, he was out for a bit and we were at the end of our outing we decided that we wanted to eat lunch. Well, I don’t feel comfortable having Peyton in too public of a place, so we picked up food and went out to an empty local park. This was not a good idea. We ended up with a squirmy, fussy baby.
     After that fail, we decided we would try to sit comfortably in the car, chat, people watch, and eat there instead. That didn’t last too long either. Just as we got ready to put food in our mouths, the Peyton alarm sounded. This time I hopped on it hoping to settle him down so Ben and I could just try and relax a little before going home. I failed yet again! He was just not having it.
     Finally we decided to make our way to the house. We hoped that he would quiet down and go to sleep so we could pick a spot by our community park and eat there. Luckily he decided to have mercy on us and let us have just enough time to eat then woke up again. It took us about 30 seconds to get home from where we parked. Once we got there I fed him and he was fine. I was so happy!

     This was the first serious fail in my attempt at parenting. I suppose common sense would have help here, but sometimes the desire to go out and not be cooped up in a house overcomes common sense. What I should have done was get him comfortable, go out, and when he started to get fussy I should have just taken him home. Setting of the Peyton alarm was not worth my tense trip out and about. Babies take control no matter what the situation. The baby take precedence and that is how it should be. It was just one of those live and learn kind of situations I suppose.
     I know I will encounter a number of other parenting fails. Next time hopefully I will be a little more prepared. What was your first parenting fail? What parenting fail do you notice among other parents when you are out and about?
