The holiday season is upon us and Christmas is approaching quite rapidly. The one thing that constantly reminds me of the holiday seasons and the wonderful memories I have with it is Nat King Cole’s “The Christmas Song”. The song is on one of my parent’s Christmas CD and we play it every year when we decorated the tree and the house for the season.

     To me, this song represents family traditions, memories, and shared celebration. This particular song makes me think of the future of my little family. I look forward to our future traditions. I want to be able to make hot cocoa and apple cider while we gaze at our living room decorations and listen to our version of Nat King Cole while cuddling together under blankets. I look forward to many more domino and monopoly games that run late in the night with laughter and conversation. To enjoy the long day of cooking as a family, baking chocolate chip cookies while dancing around the kitchen and sharing tastes of freshly mashed potatoes or warm rolls. These hopes and dreams are what I see in my future when this song plays.

     I hope to pass on my love of family, laughter, and memories when I have my own family gatherings. I want to be able to see my family grow in these traditions. I hope to have them learn the old and have them create new traditions with me. Thanksgiving will not be a holiday of shopping and sales, but of thanks and forgiveness. Christmas will not be a holiday of gifts and greed, but of sharing, kindness, and family. The New Year will not be just lists of empty resolutions, but of new beginnings and refreshing opportunity.

     This song is a wonderful beginning to so much more. What is your favorite holiday song and why? Do you have any family traditions or recipes that you plan to pass down through your family? How do you start your holiday season?

