For the past nine weeks we have been able to avoid the topic of work because thankfully I haven’t been at work. I have enjoyed being home with my family, my son, and just having time to be free from the responsibility of work. This all ceased to be when I got a call yesterday. {Dun, dun, dunnnnnn!}

     My boss called while I had a friend over for lunch. Sure enough I answered the phone since I didn’t recognize the phone number. She started with the normal pleasantries, “How are you? How is baby? What have you been up to?” I have to admit I am always a little interested in how they are doing without me, but today I felt like she was really trying to beat around the bush. So, I told her that Peyton and I were just fine and just asked for her why she called.

     She tried to skip to the juicy stuff. One of my co-workers is taking a new position with a different company. This means that one of the apartments that was occupied by an employee will now be vacated and is now available so she wanted to offer it to me. This would mean that I would get a 33% discount on the rent and the apartment would be vacated by January 1st. Then she dropped the bomb… After talking it over with my regional manager they would like to offer me the position of Assistant Community Director upon my return. Of course the rest of the conversation I had pretty much stopped listening because I had so many things running through my head. After a few more minutes I told her that I had to return to my guest. She said get back to me by the end of next week and to have a good day.

     After I got to enjoy the rest of my visit with my friend I got to take the time to absorb the conversation that I had with my boss. They are offering me an apartment at a discounted rate and a promotion. Now, most people would be thrilled at news like this, but it is all a ruse. I have been waiting on this promotion for about a year and a half. It is has been dangled over my head for about a year and nine months. The promise that it was “in process” was always the tease and now it has been handed over to me on a silver platter. Of course it’s prefect timing.

     My boss is a smart cookie. She wanted to keep this one in her back pocket in case she needed to throw a “hail mary”. She knew that with me out on maternity leave that she would need something good to make me want to come back. If you have read some of my earlier posts, she has been “threatening” me about coming back to work. I know she wants me back, and I can guess it’s because my colleague has found another position.

     Now, I would like to ask you all what would you do? Do you go back to work, take the job? Go for the cheap apartment and potential for more money? Do you bask in the glory of your new title and ignore that they are just using it to get you back in the office? Tell me your reasoning before I give you mine.

