IN THE BEGINNING

     The New Year’s resolutions didn’t so much get kicked off with a bang. Unfortunetly it more or less started with a slow crawl. No, I didn’t start gung-hoe on January 1st. It’s more like I “trucked” (my new word for the “f-word” since I am no longer cussing) for the first few days, and then I made the transition to following my rules. Cussing has been the easiest so far. I thought of all things that would be a hard one to take care of, but no… compared to the others, cussing is the least of my problems. With some of the others I had to start small.

     Making time for myself was significantly more challenging. I decided that it would be a good idea to start with enjoying a shower on my own. (Note: I love that this also works for personal hygene!) My showers however brief were where I could just stop and think, sing and dance, or just cry in the comfort of the tile walls and myself. This is really where the magic happens. No matter what mother tries to say otherwise, the shower is a sanctuary. 
     Getting out has been eclectically impossible, however some how we do it. Our first week we managed to escape one house to go straight to another. (We were staying with my parents for a bit while we were getting adjusted to life with Peyton. So, we were between their place and ours for about eight weeks.) Even the drive was nice, but still exhausting because Peyton was not quite comfortable in a car seat. He was a trooper though and let Mommy feel a little more normal by being able to ride around in a car.

     Eating has been better. It took some time for me to really focus on this. I was able to manage lunch and dinner no problem. The breakfast and snacks thing is what’s killing me. If babies had their way their mothers breakfast and snacks would fall right off the menu. I started weight watchers to really get a focus on how I manage my eating, focus on what I am putting in my mouth, and allow me some wiggle room so I don’t feel like I am depriving myself all the time.

TOWARDS THE

     I kept up most of my resolutions. It really came down to a couple things… one, how bad did I want it? I want it real bad. Two, do you think you deserve it? Hell yes! These were all well deserved. Three, did you make it important enough so you can make that change? Yes, I thought that time for me, time to eat, and time for Ben and me is imperative. This is how it has been most recently.

     My time for myself has gone a little outside the shower, which has been great. This has turned from not just shower alone time, but time after bed alone time and walking time. I have made time after Peyton and Hubby are off to dreamland for me to just sit and lounge. That is how I have time for this right now, but it is also some time where I can sit and enjoy a movie of my choice or read some of my favorite blogs or whatever. It gives me time to unwind. The other thing that is definitely time for me is my walks. I have joined a girl friend of mine and we have started walking through out the week. This is time for me to focus on something I want while bringing Peyton along for an outing and making me feel a little more alive.

     Getting out has been a much bigger challenge. I had to admit I thought it would be much easier than what I thought, but I have been finding some small ways to do it. I have been going to my weekly Weight Watchers meeting. This is huge! Before all I could do was go weigh in and then take off, now I am able to go weigh in and sit and enjoy the company of these Weight Watchers and discuss. It has been amazing. I also went on my first real outing with my boys. We went to Pleasanton, enjoyed a meal at Cheesecake Factory, and we walked around the mall. It was thrilling and liberating. I am looking forward to a trip to San Jose, Concord, and a few other locations soon.

     My eating is still a work in progress. I have definitely found some time to improve though. I have been enjoying breakfast I would say about three out of seven days a week. I have been getting lunch in, but it has been a late lunch since my little guy has some funky nap times, and then dinner is a guarantee. I have been including more fruits and veggies in my food selection too. To be completely honest, I hate veggies but I eat them for my health and it has been making me feel so much better. I don’t feel as “yuck” as I used to. I have a ton more energy and it makes me feel like I am making more conscious decisions though out my life, not just my eating habits.

     Overall everything is going pretty well. Now, the challenge is to just keep it up. I will just need to follow up again to let you know how it’s going. Next check in will be in May. I know we can keep it going, now just to prove it!

     How are your resolutions going? Have you made any progress? What are your feelings on any failed resolutions? Any option of recovery? Look forward to hearing from you.

