Ok, so I am not Elmer Fudd, and I am not hunting “wabbits”, but I am hunting for houses. Yep, you heard right, Mr. G and I are looking to take the big leap for a home. We need it not only for ourselves, but for our kiddo’s and our wawa’s (or dogs as you normal people may call them). We have been on a moving hiatus for about the past five years. We did it to ourselves… this I know… but it’s about time it stops. We want roots. No more packing. No more moving. No more concern about where our lives will take off. It is our time now to dive right in to a home of our own. Something that we can make ever lasting memories in. Somewhere I can point out to our kids in 10 years time to say how they lost their first tooth here, or drew on the wall there. I want that for them… for me… for us.

I know everyone feels that one day they will be able to settle down somewhere and make their lives there. Some people relish in the thought of travel and moving and being forever mobile… not me. I am the kind of person who wants to make a life somewhere I can make friends that I will have for more than six months. I want to be able to have a small garden to teach my kids how things grow and personal responsibility and pride in their home.

 

I know a lot of people may take offense to this and think… “I live in an apartment and I take just as much pride in that home as I would any home I would OWN…” and they are completely right. To me it’s not about apartment vs. house. To me it’s about space. To me its about flexibility. Even though I am not much of a “green thumb” or yard kind of person… I want to be able to cut my own grass. I want to make my own rules instead of worry about what the landlord will say. I hate that our dogs can’t go out and roam (I realize this is more for public safety as well as the safety of the pet). I hate that my son can’t play safely on a grassy area (or yard). Some people specifically choose to have an apartment or rent a house so they are allowed to have someone else be responsible for the grass, parking, noise levels, etc. I want something different. It’s not better, just different.

 

So, we found ourselves an awesome and understanding Realtor. We are pre-approved for a loan. We are going through the motions so that we can hopefully accomplish our goal some day (hopefully soon). If we don’t, that’s ok… it’s all a matter of time (it’s not so much and “if we can…” it more of a “when we can…”. We are just on the hunt to bag ourselves the biggest, baddest house out there. I will let you know when we’ve caught it.

Our motto until the “one” comes along. πŸ™‚

 

