Today I was at home, with the boys… you know, same ol’, same’ol. A million smiles, a few giggles, and your standard handful of tantrums. It just made me realize how much every tantrum, every argument, and every non-existent nap time I will always have some level of appreciation for my children’s attitude. Yes, sometimes I complain about how I wish they would be obedient and listen. Well… in a way I am SO glad they have that… fire.

And it happens to the best of us.

No, my kids are far from perfect, but man they have spunk. It’s something I think people lose over the years. They know what they want (whether it’s good for them or not is a different story) and they go for it. They don’t care what you think, what neighbors think, what Costco shoppers think. They just express exactly what they are feeling in the moment. In a way I truly admire that.

 

I am not at all encouraging tantrums or child freedom. {Hehe… child freedom… kinda weird to refer to it like that.} I certainly don’t suggest letting your kid run a muck or allow you to endanger them by neglecting them. I just think it’s refreshing in a sense to see little people in their purest form being exactly who they are meant to be. They aren’t the least bit deterred by peer pressure or changed by propaganda (although parental influence factors in eventually). I hope they never lose that gumption. I just love seeing my little ones in their element fighting to be themselves.

 

Yes, my kid throws a tantrum before I can get him to nap. He pretty much throws a tantrum for anything he doesn’t want to do now a days… I blame toddler-hood. In the moment I can’t stand it when he doesn’t want to eat the food I prepared or refuses to drink out of his sippy cup and insists to use a “big boy” cup (A.K.A. a regular cup). But, I am glad he is independent. I am glad he wants to be a “big boy”. I am glad he tries to make his own decisions. Even if it takes negotiation and persuasion to get him to eat his veggies, I feel reassured that my son will one day be able to make the decision to eat his vegetables on his own… and WANT to do it.

 

I just know there will come a day when things will change. When he will want to do things because his friends think it’s cool or because he saw that commercial. I just relish in the thought that he will hopefully be the kind of kid the becomes a man who knows what he wants despite what is “cool”. I want him to be his own man and be very proud of that.

 

Now, until he becomes that man… he will never know that I am proud of his tantrums and constant attitude. Until then, I will continue to guide him and be the mother he needs me to be. I will discipline him when he needs it and celebrate him when he is successful. Then after every day when all the tantrums, attitude, and spunk have been safely tucked into bed, I will silently smile and think proudly, “That’s my boy.”

My boys… both of them spunky as hell. Just like their momma. πŸ™‚
