The sound of clapping resounded in my ears. I didn’t even have to look up to know I was facing one of my most difficult audiences. My eyes slowly rose from the view of my empty dish and my fork gently fell from my finger tips and clanged against the white porcelain bowl. It wasn’t me they were clapping for, it was my epic meal. I can’t take total credit for it though. I only mimicked what was a stroke of genius shared by it’s inventor.

I have never been applauded for a recipe I made. It is a huge first for me. It was also the first recipe Mr. G ever applauded. Plus, this recipe’s main ingredient is a vegetable! That is an even bigger first for Mr. G. He ate something that didn’t have beef as a main ingredient. It was a night of firsts I suppose. I couldn’t believe that this recipe was such a hit.

“You know, you read about it, you see it in the movies. Even when you practice it at home, man oh man, it is nothing like that.” -Young Ethan, FRIENDS, Ick Factor Episode

It’s so true. I have never had a recipe received so well by the hubby, so I have to share it of course. And never in a million years would I ever imagine that he would applaud me for it. HAHAHAHA! Without further ado… this is the Chicken Zucchini Casserole from Six Sisters Stuff. I have to admit I found the recipe on Pinterest, so I didn’t notice the blog until I went to check out the full recipe (which took place today), but after some serious browsing I am in love with their site. They have everything! Recipes, DIY, activities, etc! I just love it. And they are the cutest bunch of sisters I have ever seen. Their site is super family friendly and with my bunch of boys that never hurts. I am just glad I found them. I also followed them on Twitter too.

This was fresh out of the oven.
Chicken Zucchini Casserole
Prep time:  10 mins
Cook time:  45 mins
Total time:  55 mins
Serves: 6
Ingredients
  • 6 ounce package of boxed stuffing mix (I used Stove Top)
  • ½ cup melted butter
  • 4 cups of zucchini, diced
  • 2 cups of cooked chicken, cubed
  • 10.75 ounces Cream of Chicken Soup
  • ½ onion, chopped
  • ½ cup of sour cream
Instructions
  1. In a large bowl, combine the stuffing mix and melted butter. Set aside ½ cup of the mixture for the topping. In a large bowl add the zucchini, chicken, soup, onion and sour cream to the remaining stuffing. Place the zucchini mix into at greased 9×13 glass pan and spread out evenly. Sprinkle reserved ½ cup stuffing mix on top and bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 40 to 50 minutes or until golden brown.
I loved the chunks of chicken and all the zucchini. Perfect combo!

With this recipe it is perfect for my, “stay at home and eat better plan”. It can easily be altered to accommodate something a little more healthy (I used light sour cream and fat free cream of chicken soup). You can probably add a little in the way of veggies too if you want (peas and carrot or something). With zucchini it cooks down because it has so much moisture in it so it made the stuffing wonderfully fluffy and not dry at all. It definitely helps that the zucchini is such an easy veggie too. It can be easily seasoned to take on some very good favors.

This was just perfect though. The fact that I got the man that just does not eat vegetables to actually eat a vegetable is simply amazing! This has skipped our, “like” list and made a space for itself on our, “absolutely love it” list. Looks like I am in for more applause. Hahahaha!

Have you had any recipes that became quick family favorites? Which one is your go to fave?

