I can bore you all to death with a year in review. I am sure you would all like to know about our 2 moves, the birth of our second child (Munchkin), and another birthday for Mr. G, Toddler, and myself… but how much fun would that really be. I would probably bore the bee-geezus out of you and leave you no time to ring in the new year. For sake of argument I am going to skip all that fun stuff and move right along. In “research” for my blog today I came across this quote:

“We seem to be going through a period of nostalgia, and everyone seems to think yesterday was better than today. I don’t think it was, and I would advise you not to wait ten years before admitting today was great. If you’re hung up on nostalgia, pretend today is yesterday and just go out and have one hell of a time.” – Art Buchwald

I don’t know much about Mr. Buchwald, but I do know he was a writer of satire and according to him and some sort of settlement he agreed upon with Paramount Pictures, he had a hand in the writing of Coming to America (the movie starring Eddie Murphy). But, that is neither here, nor there… his thoughts (as I would understand them) were somewhere along the lines of: why waste your time reminiscing the past when you can put all that effort into enjoying the present.

I will be enjoying the present today with my kiddos and hubby (although he will be at work for a bit longer). I am going to enjoy my last day (for at least a month) of meat, cheese, etc. I am going to relax. I am going to watch the kiddos play. I am going to cook… something. I am going to go to sleep early and wake up to a new year.

I wish you all a wonderful night of fun and dancing. And if you choose to reminisce, I hope you do so briefly so you don’t miss what it taking place right now. Be safe everyone! Cheers!

