This was where I had my BANGIN’ burger and shake. If you are a California native, you know what I am talking about. If you are new to In-N-Out, go to one of their locations RIGHT NOW, and try a burger. Y.U.M. Photo courtesy of Serious Eats.

I am all ready for my no meat. I ate the best cheesburger and had to most scrumptious milkshake last night in preparation for no meat month… then… it was New Years Day. So that means pay day has been postponed a day and so has my shopping. This means a few things:

(a) I am at the end of our food supply (not so much all food, but all of our fruits and veggies, we eat those up pretty quick so they don’t spoil).

(2) I have nothing, but meat, dairy, and animal products in the house.

(III) I will have to postpone our diet transformation until tomorrow, when I will be able to grocery shop for foods that are meatless and sans animal product.

(d) I prepped myself and ate that hamburger and milkshake last night for NOTHING!

POO! I am just going to have to get ready again and stay positive. But, I guess it’s a good thing that I didn’t have to go shopping today because last night our super awesome neighbors set off some NOT so awesome fireworks until like 1:30AM. I was up about a million times last night between that and Munchkin’s teething. I suppose I can do the “Woe is me,” crap… but ultimately I am just hoping for another early bedtime tonight or a nap some time today.

I have a great recipe for you today though! This is from my Weight Watcher days and I still love it today. The other perk, my hubby loves it too! So thanks to Skinny Kitchen, we have the most amazing Chicken Pot Pie, Skinny-fied. It is super easy too, so for novices like myself, it would be really hard to mess it up.

Chicken Pot Pie, Skinny-fied

Ingredients

3 cups Swanson’s reduced-sodium chicken broth or your favorite

1½ cups onions, chopped

1 cup potato, peeled and cubed (½ inch cubes)

1 cup sweet potato, peeled and cubed (½ inch cubes)*

1 cup carrots, peeled and chopped**

1 cup celery, sliced

1 lb chicken breasts (boneless, skinless), cut into bite-size pieces

1½ cups frozen peas (not defrosted)***

1½ cup reduced-fat milk

½ cup plus 1 tablespoon all purpose flour

2 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped or 1 teaspoon dried

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

1 pkg. Pillsbury Golden Layer Flaky Biscuits (100 calories for each biscuit)****

*Mr. G and I prefer all red potatoes, so this is for all those who want to keep things on the “skinnier” side. If you opt to join Mr. G and I in the sweet potato rebellion, I would just make sure to double up on the amount of potato (i.e. 2 cups potatoes, skip the sweet potato).

**Carrots are one of the few veggies that Mr. G will actually eat, so I have become accustomed to adding more than the noted 1 cup. I do 1 1/2 cups carrots and I have found that it is a lot more dimension to the pot pie and seems fuller, not so juicy with the gravy.

***Peas are one of Mr. G’s hated veggie rivals. I don’t mind them, so in a compromise we have opted to do a frozen bag (12-16oz) of mixed veggies that include corn, peas, green beans, etc. Again, this adds a little more dimension and variety in your pot pie, but to each their own. So, do what suits you.

****These damn Biscuits are a pain. You have to kind of pull at them with your fingers and sometimes they tear. Just do your best. I have found that I only need 6 (and because there are a total of 8) and you have 2 left over… not 1. So, again just do what suits you. If you use all of them then great, if you don’t no biggie

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large pan, add chicken broth and bring to a boil.

2. Stir in onions, potato, sweet potato, carrots and celery. Bring back to a boil, reduce heat and cover. Simmer for 6 minutes.

3. Add chicken pieces and frozen peas, breaking them up. Bring back to a boil, turn heat to simmer, cover, and cook for 5 minutes.

4. Place a colander into a large bowl. Pour chicken, vegetables and broth into colander. Add strained broth back to the pan. Set aside chicken and vegetables.

5. In a separate small bowl, add flour. Gradually add milk to the flour stirring with a whisk, until well blended.

6. Increase heat to medium with the broth. Stir in milk/flour mixture with a whisk. Cook for 5 minutes or until thicken. Stir often.

7. Add back chicken and vegetables, along with thyme, salt and pepper. Mix well.

8. Coat an 11 x 7 baking dish (see Shopping Tip) with cooking spray and pour in the chicken stew.

9. Open the package of biscuits, separate them and place on top of chicken stew. Line them evenly over top.

10. Place the pie on a foil lined baking sheet and bake for 14-16 minutes until the biscuits are real golden brown.

11. To serve, spoon into each bowl and top with 1 biscuit. There will be two extra biscuits for whoever wants it.

Serves 8 (each serving, ⅛ of recipe and 1 biscuit)

**This is my adaptation from Skinny Kitchen‘s Chicken Pot Pie, Skinny-fied recipe. Their version is perfect for the Weight Watcher in you, I just played a little mix and match to change things up a bit, plus with my picky eaters, who can blame me.

Now I would like to say I made this recently, but I can’t. It is always on the, “things to cook” list and other new recipes get in the way. But, I promise you that if you try it this will be ol’ faithful. It is great for leftovers too. If you want to tweak it and add or subtract things, let me know what you did and how you like it. I may test it out myself.

Well, I hope you had a great New Year and are looking forward to 2015! Did you make a resolution? Are you trying something new? Have big plans? Please share with me!

*Please forgive me, I thought this posted, but it seems that my computer is on the fritz, so it didn’t post yesterday as I had planned. Anyways, hope you enjoyed the read and I will be looking forward to sharing with you my next recipe I took for a test run.

