I have encountered my fair share of bullies in my life. Hell, I remember the first kid to call me fat. His name was Kevin and we were in first grade. Before that I didn’t have any issue with my body image. He took that away from me rather quickly. Thanks Kevin.

This isn’t about him though. This is above and beyond that. I have encountered a lot of bullies in my life and it shocks me that even at the ripe age of 27, I still see them. Sometime I see them at the grocery store, sometimes I hear them talking to my husband, sometimes I even face a few bully beasts on my own. They are always out there. Mr. G commonly refers to them as “trolls”.

Internet or otherwise… “trolls” are not the business. Courtesy of PoorEXcuses.

I know that is the “internet slang” term for them, but deep down… no matter what name you refer to them by… they are bullies.

I have found that keeping a distance from these people have always been my method of response to their hurtful tactics. Call me a wimp, call me an avoid-er, call me what ever you want… the people who are not nice to me or the people I love are better at a distance. I feel like if I am going to welcome you into my life I shouldn’t have to worry if you are looking to “troll” though it. But, most recently I have encountered mean things and people that I cannot avoid. What do you do then? How do you handle these people or situations?

Some people are just not nice and it’s not cool.

I have been encountering these kind of people lately and after a lot of discussion with Mr. G, I think we have found our very own special solution. We have noticed that people’s attitudes right now are at an all time low. There are a lot of factors and issues going on in the world that should not be happening. These things lead me to believe that when I encounter unavoidable “trolls” and their meanness that I need to sit quietly, smile, and engage in a silent protest. They may think what they are doing is 100% in the right, when in fact it is purely hurtful. Even though they may think that they are “right” or “doing me a favor” by being this way to me or voicing their negative thoughts, I am not going to fall victim to their never ending verbal poking and prodding. I am not going to allow their negativity to pierce my feelings. I am going to go on with my life the way I choose to live it, as a God fearing, husband loving, kiddo embracing, food experimenting, life celebrating momma that I am.

I don’t care who you are, what title you might have, or anything, I refuse to allow you to even attempt to ruin me. You can waste your breath and all of your energy trying, but you will not hurt me. I will be frustrated at times. I will feel the burn of your words, but it will never make me change the person that I am. I hope that anyone else who has encountered those people out there who are mean, just for the sake of being mean know that it is nothing to dwell on. It is merely a tactic for them to get attention that they don’t deserve.

Mr. G and I are going to try and keep our lives filled with beauty, optimism, and positivity. I am done trying to change or hide who I really am to keep these “trolls” at bay and I don’t want to waste anymore time thinking about them or worrying that they will have an effect on my life. Mr. G and I are in control of our own lives and our feelings and we get to call the shots on our life, no one else.

In the spirit of ridding ourselves of those bad thoughts and negativity, I thought it would be a great night to make some Mexican food. May all the spices and jalapeno cleans our system of trolling yuckiness. You know how they say that spicy foods can help with a cold, it allows you to sweat it out… well I am going to run with that and use it for the negativity in our lives too. Mmk? Good! First I had to make home made salsa verde. For all of you who are wondering, yes I am 1/4 Mexican and I have never made this… I know, shame, shame, shame on me! I guess there is a first time for everything though, right? Recipe courtesy of Thug Kitchen cookbook, page 126.

Salsa Verde

Ingredients

1 1/2lbs tomatillos

2 jalapenos

1/2 white onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1 Tbsp lime juice

1/8 tsp salt

Instructions (This is where I ad-lib a little with what is in the book, so go buy the damn book because it’s amazing and you can get their much more fantastical wording.)

1. Get your broiler going. (I put mine on low because I didn’t want o burn the crap out of my tomatillos, but if you do what works for you. If you do yours on low your cooking time might just be longer.)

2. Tear off the leaves covering the tomatillos and rinse them off so there is no more sticky residue on them. Put those and the jalapenos in a baking dish and stick it under the broiler.

3. Roast them till they start to blacken on top and the peppers are getting charred. Then rotate them half way so their undersides get nice and roasted too.

4. Once they are done roasting, take them out and let them cool enough to touch. After they have cooled, roughly chop them up. The more jalapeno seeds, the hotter the salsa, so you do the math. Mr. G and I don’t like too hot, but we don’t mind a little kick… so I left a little less than half of the jalapeno seeds. The rest you can toss those to the curb.

5.Toss all your ingredients in a food processor and run it for about 30 seconds. I put mine on pulse and just pressed it until I felt the consistency was nice and a little chunky.

6. Serve warm, cold, or at room temperature.

Still in the food processor and smells like heaven!

This recipe is super yum, and when you are roasting the tomatillos and jalapenos it smells fantastic. Plus, my absolutely favorite… cilantro. I love it. It reminded me of when I was a kid and my grandma would cook with it. It’s refreshing and like knocks you into a whole happy cilantro place. Ok, in other words it made me feel like a whole new person. I guess that is why I like trying new recipes. It feels like I am starting new. It also takes my mind off of those negative thoughts from those who enjoy trolling. You would think that this is where we stop things, but we are only half way there. This is only the half way point.

I made the Mixed Veggie and Tofu Chilaquiles. This recipe is in the front of the book (page 4) for a reason. It is SO damn good. Now, just like the book says, if you need to add or subtract spices due to your own preferance, but I literally only had to add some salt and lime. Here is the amazing recipe from Thug Kitchen with my twist here and there.

Mixed Veggie and Tofu Chilaquiles

Ingredients

12 corn tortillas

2 tsp olive oil

1 block medium-firm tofu (I went with the extra firm. The kind packed in water. You will need to drain this, but it is fine no matter which one you use.)

2 tsp soy sauce or tamari

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

1/2 medium onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2-3 cups fresh spinach (I did two heaping cups)

2 1/2 cups salsa verde (the stuff you made with the recipe above or store bought, whatever)

1/4 cup vegetable broth or water

Toppings: avocado, cilantro, jalapeno, pico de gallo, etc.

Instructions

1. Oven to 400 degrees. Cut up your tortillas pizza style (about 6-8 slices per tortilla). Put them on a baking sheet and stick them in the oven to dry them out. About 15-20 minutes. You want to flip them over about midway through. Do not let them burn, they burn fast too… so keep a look out. (Mr. G was my look out. Hahahah!)

2. While the tortillas are in the oven, get a large skillet. Heat one Tbsp olive oil  over medium heat and crumble in the drained Tofu. If there is still a little water, don’t worry about it, it will cook off, promise. Stir in the soy sauce and garlic powder and cook for about 2 minutes until some of the water cooks off (about 2 minutes). Stir in the nutritional yeast and turn off the heat. Pour the tofu in a bowl, wipe out the skillet and get it back on the stove.

3. Heat the second Tbsp olive oil over medium heat. Put in the onion, bell pepper, and jalapeno and saute until onions look a little brown (3 to 5 minutes). Add the garlic and spinach and cook about 30 seconds more.

4. The baked tortillas should be done now so go ahead and put about half of them into your veggie mixture. Add 1 cup of the salsa and 2 Tbsp of the broth and mix it all together. Add half of the tofu over the whole skillet and add the rest of the tortillas. Top with the rest of the tofu salsa and broth and gently stir it around. You want that whole thing covered, nothing dry. Let simmer for about 5 minutes or until the tortillas get a little soft and the liquid evaporates.

5. Serve immediately with what ever toppings you choose. I highly recommend if you opt not to do the pico de gallo, at least do some fresh tomatoes. The flavor is so good together! And it does have a bit of a kick so if you are not feeling the heat, the avocado is a nice mild and tasty touch.

In the pan. You can do what ever bell pepper you wish, I had green handy, but if you do red it sure livens up the colors in the pan.
Our finished product… spicy and delicious!

This was a HIT with Mr. G. We served ours with lime wedges too because it brings out so much flavor. Plus, the citrus with the salsa… TO.DIE.FOR. But, really… don’t take my word for it. Try it yourself! I am having left overs today for lunch and even cold, it smells amazing. It tastes great too. Good for lunches. Your office will be eyeing the break room when they smell this heating up. It’s so worth the time to cook it.

Wow, and after talking about it all it really does take your mind off the yucky trolls and gets you thinking what it would be like if the world was covered in chilaquiles and limes. That is the world I would like to live in one day. HAHAHA! How about you? What have you been cooking lately? Anything yummy and delicious? Anything Mexican themed? Well, pass them my way if you do. I am armed and ready to cook!

