I have been fighting the good no meat, no animal product fight for about 12 days now, including today. I have been thinking about all the meats that I can eat when I am done with this month. That is still a long 16 days away. The discussion today is not about that though. Today, I have to be brutal. I effed up. I have been effing up to be honest. I wish I could say that it was a big error, but to be honest I think it was due to lack of focus. Me and my effing focus.

I have had three eff ups over the last 12 days. On three separate occasions I have broken my monthly “vow” to not eat meat or animal products. Here is how my lame-o focus got me all effed:

1) I had Chinese food and ordered fried rice. Harmless, right? Well little ol’ me didn’t remember that… EGG… is in effing friend rice. I thought, “Oh it will be great, carrots, peas, rice… you can’t go wrong with that.” Well, I was wrong. The worst part… No, it’s no that I ate the egg and liked it. The worst part, I didn’t even realize my mistake until number 2 (below).

2) We go get Chinese food, round two. I think its a safe bet because I can easily get something veggie or tofu. Well I get the food home and start to devour. As I am about three-quarters of the way through my meal Mr. G says, “Wow, I can’t believe how big the chunks of egg are in the fried rice.” Immediately my heart sank… I am sitting over half chow mien and half fried rice. My mouth full as I am looking down and examining the rice. I saw the peas, I saw the carrots,and those little effers slowly start to pop out at me. Like little gold pieces in the bottom of a river bank. EFF!!! What the hell?!?!? Who puts egg in fried rice?!?!? ARGH!! After the anger with myself and lack of focus subsides, I think:

– I said that it was a No Meat Month, and egg is not meat. I am ok there.

– I said I would be avoiding almost all animal products, so a little egg isn’t gonna kill me right? And I said almost all, not all.

– It’s just a teeny bit of scrambled egg… it’s not meat. It’s not dairy. I am ok, right?

– Oh eff!

3) Costco… the car that the dogs chase. The one place people can go and literally have a whole meal on just their samples.

See, a whole meal from just samples, it could and has happened. (Photo Credit)

The wise person would have eaten something before going so they aren’t tempted by the aroma of chicken potstickers and Kinders meats. I was not a wise person. You would think I would at least go for the good stuff. I was so distracted by all the food I just grabbed what was on the lady’s little counter. Little did I know, and about 5 seconds after I swallowed it, I found out that it was a bagel bite. I am pretty sure my little quarter didn’t have the synthetic “pepperoni”, but I know it had some of the “cheese”. That was enough for it to be not in the “diet”.

Ok, so I know I technically cheated. Please, please, please don’t give up on me.Β I swear it didn’t even click that I was eating anything out of the norm. I guess that is because I am not a vegan or a vegiterian. I miss meat and cheese. But, I guess next time we do Chinese I will be going for the white or brown rice and the next time I hit up Costco I am going armed with either snacks or a full belly. In order to make up for my big, fat mistakesΒ I have a yummy potato salad to share.

This is another Thug Kitchen beauty (now you have to go buy the cookbook, so go on.. here is the link to buy). I did have my own twist to it, so I will be sharing my changes instead of just the book version.

Roasted Potato Salad with Fresh Herbs

Ingredients

8 large/medium red potatoes, peeled*

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp paprika*

1/2 tsp salt

Fresh Herb Sauce

1/2 cup diced fresh parsley

1/4 cup diced fresh kale*

1 clove garlic, minced

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp Balsamic vinegar*

1 Tbsp water

1 tsp lemon juice

Instructions

1. Get the oven to 400 degrees F.

2, Cut up all the potatoes in bite sized pieces and toss them with the olive oil, paprika, and salt until they are all covered. Pour them on to a rimmed baking sheet in a single layer and roast them for about 25/30 minutes. I like them a little crispy, so I did them for the full 30. (You want to flip them over half way through so each side gets some love.)

3. While the potatoes are roasting, throw all the ingredients for the herb sauce in a food processor and let it run until it is minced and well mixed together. You can do this by hand, but really the food processor is the way to go.

4, When the potatoes are tender, let them cool for about 5-10 minutes. Pour them into a large bowl and cover them with the herb sauce making sure all the potatoes get covered. Add some salt and pepper to your liking then stick it in the fridge for about an hour. Serve cold or room temp.

*These were just my changes more so because I didn’t have everything that the bad ass recipe called for. That’s just another reason why you need to go buy the Thug Kitchen cookbook yourself because it has the unaltered, amazing recipe on page 45.

My final product. It was so good!

Hopefully I will recover from my eff up. I will look forward to my next big recipe. Hope you are having a great week. Look forward to filling you in on my next recipe. Have you had any fun new recipes? How about any eff ups of your own? Oh, common… I can’t be the only one. Tell me your eff up story.

