This morning was all about the small boy who wanted to snuggle. He was not his normal self, but I couldn’t quite pin point what was wrong. I decided the best course of action was to sit and snuggle my boy and go with the flow. After a 45 minuted snuggle (well, he was snoozing) session and some whining and grabbing his head I knew that he had an ear infection. His Dad had guessed it before heading to work, but I needed the extra time to make sure. After that it was off to the doctor we go.

After a thorough inspection of himself and his brother (it was Peyton’s 4 year check up too) we were on our way with a prescription for some antibiotics. I decided that it would be best to get some grocery shopping done while we waited for the prescription to be filled. He was acting a little more normally, but I just figured that could have been partly due to the Tylenol I gave him earlier. After juggling three kids while grocery shopping and picking up the prescription, he was done. I was surprised he made it through lunch, but he did get a little power nap on our way home from the grocery store.

He had his full belly, meds, and blanket. I guess that’s all that my boy needs to feel better because after his nap, he was way better. It was like a different person came out of his room. It made me feel a million times better knowing that he was on the way to his normal spunky self. The reason why I even bring this up is because today was my first day on Whole30. Let me begin by saying, this is hard. It’s even harder when you have sick kids and you can’t focus worth a damn. Despite that, I kept on. I wanted to begin this change.

The whole day I thought about food. I thought about when I was going to eat next. I thought about what I was going to eat next. I thought about preparing food and snacks. All day I was faced with thoughts about food. It really made me think about my relationship with food. I associated my regular shopping and day “out” as a day that I “treat” myself to fast food. I had to turn off the radio in my car because all I heard were the fast food commercials.

My relationship with food has been pretty f*cked up for a while. I eat when I am happy (special occasions/celebrations), sad, angry, stressed, etc. I use the kids as an excuse to eat. I eat when they nap. I eat what they don’t eat. I eat EVERYTHING. I eat when I am hungry. I eat when I am not hungry. I am a hot mess with food because I love it. I know it is completely ridicules, but today and making my adjustment with food I noticed even more how truly messed up my relationship is with food.

Breakfast was on the run. I had sliced apples and pears. I had a squeeze apple sauce right before grocery shopping so I wouldn’t have any wild food purchases. Lunch was late, but I kept it to bell peppers and carrots dipped in salsa and guacamole with a side of pickles. Don’t even ask me where the pickles came from. They were a totally random addition, but so incredibly yummy. Snack was more carrots with guac. Then dinner I indulged in In N Out Burger! Don’t you worry, I kept it to a burger protein style with extra grilled onions and no sauce. I added guac to it to add a touch of deliciousness. My day ended with realizing I had a few fails. I accidentally had peppermint candy that the boys handed to me. (Another bad relationship with food, I eat things and I don’t even focus on it.) Β I also had fries, which were incredible and a major fail. It was a good day.

So tomorrow will be Day 1B. I canΒ start over tomorrow and hopefully be a little more focused. Tomorrow I hope I will also wake up to a happy baby boy who is ready to play and keep me happily distracted from food. Cheers (raising a bottle of water of course) to a better tomorrow my friends.

How did your week start? Has the winter bug caught you or your family yet? What does your holiday schedule look like?

