[I have my place decorated for the holidays.]

FALSE. We have our cute little tree up, but unfortunately with our little fingers and mouths running around I don’t want to have too much around that they can swallow or get into. It makes for a very simple Christmas, but still… it is our first Christmas in Texas, so it is still very significant. What makes it an even bigger deal is this will be the first Christmas in my 29 years of life that I have ever been away from my family. It hasn’t quite hit me yet, but I know it will hit me hard soon. I will likely be FaceTiming my family all throughout Christmas day.

[I love the Christmas music.]

Who doesn’t love Christmas music? I mean this one should be pretty easy. TRUE… I love Christmas music. It makes me reminisce about my family and all of the beautiful tradition during this time of the year. My family’s constant for Christmas was the Nat King Cole cd. We would play it all throughout the holiday season. Some days we would make tea, hot cocoa, or hot apple cider and sit in my Mom’s “special room” and listen to Nat King Cole while admiring our tree. Oh the memories…

And just for the record, Nat King Cole’s “The Christmas Song” was always my favorite.

[The family and the food are my favorite part of Christmas.]

I do love family and holiday food. That is one of the most fun part of Christmas, but… FALSE. My favorite part of Christmas is the tree. There was a time when my family would go spend the day finding and cutting down our own tree. We would pick it out, my dad and brothers would cut it down and then we would be on our way home to  decorate it and the house. I would have liked to do that with my family, but I know right now is just not good timing for that. The kids are small and likely to get lost in a tree farm. It would turn into a mother’s worst nightmare pretty quickly. But, when I was a teenager I would come home from school and set myself up on my favorite recliner (which, thank goodness my parents handed down to me) and do my homework in front of the twinkling tree. I would play our family’s regular Nat King Cole Christmas CD and be in nirvana. It was and still is my happy place. I know after the kids are asleep tonight I will come into the living room and sit with the lights off to admire the glow of my tree with Christmas music playing softly in the background. My tree is my happy place.

I do have to admit though… fresh tress win over any fake tree. It doesn’t matter how life-like or how easy it is to use, fresh trees are always better. The smell alone is worth the trip for me. This year we went with a small fake tree cause little miss is all about putting things in her mouth and I don’t want her eating any of the pine needles.

[We will be opening presents with the kids on Christmas Eve.]

This is FALSE. I will always have us open gifts on Christmas Day simply because it will be in the morning and my mommy self doesn’t want tired, cranky children trying to stay up with their new toys Christmas Eve. I want them to be able to have a full nights rest and ready to play all day with the new toys. No staying up late for my kiddos. They get far too crabby and by about 8pm what is left of my patience vanishes into thin air.

[My all time favorite Christmas movie is “A Christmas Story”.]

“You’ll shoot your eye out, kid!” That phrase and the kid with the glasses drive me absolutely bonkers. I cannot stand that movie, so this would be FALSE. I have two favorite Christmas movies. My first (and probably ranked a little higher than the other) is “Home Alone 2”. I love that movie! I still laugh at Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern when they get pulverized by a kid. I think because this was the movie I would watch with my brothers during the Christmas season, it has more sentimental value to me. My second favorite is “Love Actually”. Who can say no to the Prime Minister (Hugh Grant) getting down and full on dancing in his quarters? Plus, Colin Firth is adorable learning Italian to finally talk to his house keeper. It’s just a feel good movie about love during the season of Christmas. You can’t go wrong with that movie.

 

Now it’s your turn! Answer “true” or “false” to the statements above and explain your answers. Have a wonderful holiday!

