There is a person I follow on Instagram that I follow. She is a mom like myself, but some of her kids are a little older. She found this book called “There’s Certainly a Santa” for her kids when they are ready to talk about the “truth” about Santa Claus. I loved this book. I found the website and thought I should share. It is truly a darling book and I can’t wait to get it for the kids.

The reason I even bring it up is because my family does things a little different. We don’t celebrate the “Santa” part of Christmas. For us, Christmas is more about the tradition and the time together. What I value most is the beauty we can find in spending time together creating these traditions. My kids are now getting to the age where they are asking about Santa Claus. Instead of just saying, “No, Santa Claus doesn’t exist,” I am going to grab this book. I know they will love it. I just don’t want them to ruin another child’s beliefs and family tradition because we know who Santa really is. <wink, wink>

We have been wrapping presents and the kids open them before it’s even Christmas. How do you even keep a kid from doing this? I have done everything from putting kids on time out to even threatening to take all the toys and return them to the store… nothing has worked. I still have kids opening presents and more re-wrapping to do. As much as I love the holiday season to relish in the traditions, memories, and family time, I am also looking forward to when it is all over. I don’t want to see wrapping paper for a very long time. And do not ever get me a bow. EVER. I don’t like the ones I have to tie myself or the ones that just need to be stuck on. Some how I think it was some genius’s way of pissing off people in the most random way to make premade bows that are supposed to stick, not sticky enough to stay stuck. I mean what’s that all about?

But, now that we are just days from the actual day (Sunday, if you didn’t realize and haven’t started wrapping yet) I know that it’s going to be so strange to have this year without my family. I miss them. I miss my brothers and their jokes. I miss my Mom and her meal anxiety (every cooking woman knows this anxiety before a big traditional meal for the family), planning, and offer for wine before noon. I miss my Dad’s laugh and his “Type-A” need to fold all Christmas bags and used tissue paper nicely so it can be re-used again next year (I don’t think my family has wrapped using actual wrapping paper since 2008). Now that I think about it, I am pretty sure my Dad is the reason why we still have bags from Christmas 1999. Hahahaha! I love them. I am hoping that FaceTime will serve it’s purpose so I don’t end up crying all Christmas Day.

I have been trying to distract myself by thinking of fun ways we can make our own traditions. My Dad would make a big delicious breakfast on Christmas, and I don’t know if I will be able to do that, but I definitely will make something Whole30 and yummy. I want to color these signs for the kids to “find” on Christmas morning that will lead them to the living room. I don’t know if I will be able to get it all done whilst wrapping, but I sure will try. I finished their stockings. Now just a few more fun touches and we will go from there. It will be so exciting to see the kids open their presents. The boys will be consumed by their want to open the presents the moment they wake up, but I can’t wait for Parker to open some of her clothes and drape them over herself. I think that will be the coolest part for me. Dinner is going to be a roast and a few different sides on Christmas Eve so Christmas Day can be an easy one eating leftovers.

Today is day 15 on Whole30 for me. I have been doing ok. I think I am slowly getting to the Tiger Blood phase. I have been having more energy to chase the kids around and I have found myself to be far more patient talking to the kids while they are in full on meltdown mode. I have been sleeping well, but lately I have been more tired than I was before. I dunno. It’s kinda weird. I have been adventuring with some new recipes. Last night was this Thai Meatball and Egg Drop Soup (you just have to watch the fish sauce you use, mine had sugar in it so I had to remake mine in a haphazard kind of way and hubby got the full one). I was so mad when I read the ingredients AFTER I had already added it to the pot of broth. GRRRRRR! I was so mad at myself. I kept thinking, “how does FISH SAUCE have freakin’ sugar in it?!?!?!” Oh well, live and learn, and never again.

I am looking forward to getting some of my craftiness started here. I hope you all have a great day. Who will you be missing this holiday season and what is their quirky holiday habit? Are you starting any new traditions this year? If so, what are they? We will talk again soon, so until then… lets wrap this up and get to the crafts.

